BAXTER COUNTY QUORUM COURT JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

May 7, 2024

The Baxter County Quorum Court met in regular session at 6:00 PM in the Baxter County Courtroom with County Judge Kevin Litty presiding. Members present were: Rhonda "Tink" Albright, Ty Chapman, Cameron Davis, Angela DeGroote, Maryanne Edge, Dennis Frank, Charles Osgood, Roger Steele, Rick Steiner, Dirk Waldrop and Shannon Walker. The meeting began with a moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance.

Judge Litty asked if there were any additions or corrections to the minutes of the April meeting. Justice DeGroote moved that the minutes be approved as submitted. Justice Edge seconded the motion. All voted in favor.

Reports:

County Treasurer Jenay Mize provided the Court with a Treasurer's report.

Sales tax is up 3.4% in the amount of about \$15,000.00

Jail part is up 3.4% in the amount of \$6,700.00

Year to Date is up 2.9% which equates to about \$55,000 above this time last year.

Justice Frank reported on the JP Conference from April 13th in Little Rock.

Presentation:

none

Old Business:

none

New Business:

Appropriation Ordinance #2024-21, AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FEES AND REIMBURSEMENTS RECEIVED IN THE MONTH OF MARCH TO THE SHERIFF'S OFFICE 2024 BUDGET, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read by title only by the Chief Deputy Clerk. Justice Edge moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Osgood. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop and Walker. The motion passed and Ordinance #2024-21 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Appropriation Ordinance #2024-22, **AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$12,000.00 FROM THE COUNTY GENERAL FUND (#1000) INTO THE AIRPORT 2024 BUDGET**, was sponsored by Justice Steele and read by title only by the Chief Deputy Clerk. Justice Steele moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Waldrop. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker and Albright. The motion passed and Ordinance #2024-22 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Re-appropriation Ordinance #2024-23, **AN ORDINANCE RE-APPROPRIATING FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$706.50 WITHIN THE PUBLIC DEFENDER (#3024) 2024 BUDGET**, was sponsored by Justices Albright and Osgood and read by title only by the Chief Deputy Clerk. Justice Davis moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice DeGroote. After some discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright and Chapman. The motion passed and Ordinance #2024-23 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Re-appropriation Ordinance #2024-24, **AN ORDINANCE RE-APPROPRIATING FUNDS IN THE 2023 BUDGET, PREVIOUSLY AUTHORIZED IN ORDINANCE NO. 2022-71, FOR THE PURPOSE OF THE STATE-MANDATED BUDGET CLEAN-UP**, was sponsored by the Justice Albright and read by title only by the Chief Deputy Clerk. Justice Edge moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Frank. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright, Chapman and Davis. The motion passed and Ordinance #2024-24 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2024-6, A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE RE-APPOINTMENT OF CARMEN ROSSON TO THE BAXTER COUNTY EQUALIZATION BOARD, was sponsored by the Justice Davis and read in its entirety by the Chief Deputy Clerk. Justice Albright moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis and DeGroote. The motion passed and Resolution #2024-6 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY. Resolution #2024-7, **A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF THOMAS MIDDLETON TO THE BAXTER COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION**, was sponsored by Justice Davis and read in its entirety by the Chief Deputy Clerk. Justice Albright moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote and Edge. The motion passed and Resolution #2024-7 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2024-8, A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF LINDSEY OLIVER BY THE COUNTY JUDGE TO THE MIDWAY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISIONERS, was sponsored by Justices Frank and Albright and read in its entirety by the Chief Deputy Clerk. Justice Edge moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Davis. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Frank and Osgood. The motion passed and Resolution #2024-8 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2024-9, **A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE RE-APPOINTMENT OF JAMES SMAKAL BY THE COUNTY JUDGE TO THE GROVER TOWNSHIP FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS**, was sponsored by Justice Frank and read in its entirety by the Chief Deputy Clerk. Justice Edge moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Albright. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge and Frank. The motion passed and Resolution #2024-9 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2024-10, A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE RE-APPOINTMENT OF SHANNON CLEMENTS BY THE COUNTY JUDGE TO THE MIDWAY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read in its entirety by the Chief Deputy Clerk. Justice DeGroote moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood and Steele. The motion passed and Resolution #2024-10 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Announcement and Public Comments:

Adjournment:

Justice Waldrop moved that the Baxter County Quorum Court adjourn at 6:30 PM, until the next regularly scheduled meeting of June 4th, at 6:00 PM in the Baxter County Courtroom, which is located at the Baxter County Courthouse, #1 East 7th Street, Mountain Home, Arkansas. Justice

Edge seconded, and the motion passed, with a unanimous vote, and the meeting was adjourned.

CANDA J. REESE, BAXTER COUNTY AND CIRCUIT CLERK

SIGNED AND SEALED THIS _____ DAY OF _____, 2024.

Elizabeth Denton, Scribe